Nova Scotia Inter-University Doctoral Program in Educational Studies

Scholarship that makes a difference

Learn about the program »

A uniquely Nova Scotian program offering exciting opportunities for PhD studies with Atlantic Canada's finest educational scholars and researchers.

Nova Scotia universities have joined together to offer a world-class doctoral program that draws upon the collective resources of a renowned scholarly community.

The Nova Scotia PhD Program in Educational Studies helps talented scholars develop rich knowledge and advanced research skills so important in today's rapidly changing world.

This innovative and state-of-the-art program includes:

Graduates of the program are ideally placed to play leadership roles in a range of academic and professional organizations.


Full grid 1 

Comprehensive Portfolio Presentation

PhD Student, Margaret Garnier will present her comprehensive portfolio at St. Francis Xavier University.

Date: Friday, March 15, 2019

Time: 3:00 p.m.

Place: Xavier Hall, Room 123

Supervisor: Dr. Leona English (StFX)
Committee Member: Dr. Maureen Coady (StFX)
Committee Member: Dr. Anna MacLeod (Dal)
External Examiner: Dr. Kathryn Hibbert (UWO)

Join on Collaborate

Dissertation Proposal & Dissertation Defenses

PhD Candidate, Mary Sweatman will defend her doctoral dissertation entitled, "A University's Community Engagement Ethos: Working towards Reciprocal Processes and Public Purposes at Acadia University.

Date: Friday, March 22, 2019

Time: 12:00 p.m.

Place: KCIC Acadia Room

Supervisor: Dr. Alan Warner (Acadia)
Committee Member: Dr. Mary Breunig (Brock U)
Committee Member: Dr. Carolyn Campbell (Dal)
External Examiner: Dr. Michael Fox (Mount Allison U)

Join via Collaborate